And I’m looking for you wherever I am

Hoping to find you between the sheets

In the bed

Under it

Hiding in the shadows of the dark closet

And I’m looking for you in the food I shove in my mouth

That slides down my throat.

In the drink that swirls in the bottom of my glass

And I’m looking for you in love and lust

In arms and legs and tangled up parts.

In work, in fun, in play.

In childhood dreams

In the brightness of day and darkness of night

And I’m looking for you

But I cannot find whatever I am seeking

Comfort, that fleeting sense of security.

Trying so desperately to please– to find relief

In others’ opinions

In a fantasy that is at odds with all that is real

And I’m looking for you

Sweet comfort

Sweet relief

A cowardice move in a plot not complete

And I’m looking for you like a mother’s arms

And I’m looking for you

And I’m looking for you

 

 

 

